Burns defeats Clifton’s Eby in runoff election

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /data/web/public/drupal/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 517 of /data/web/public/drupal/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /data/web/public/drupal/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /data/web/public/drupal/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
By Brett Voss.
The political race to determine the Republican candidate to fill the seat vacated by State Representative Rob Orr finally came to an end May 27. And once the dust settled on an often ugly and long battle, Cleburne resident DeWayne Burns defeated Clifton resident Philip Eby in the Texas District 58 runoff election. To win the right to face Crowley resident and Democratic candidate Greg Kauffman in November’s general election, Burns received 5,141 votes (53.4 percent) to Eby’s 4,481 (46.6 percent), a difference of only 660 votes.
Rate this article: 
No votes yet